Ronaldo, Modric and Salah nominated for FIFA gong as Messi misses out

Cristiano Ronaldo, Luka Modric and Mohamed Salah have been nominated for the Best FIFA Men’s Player award.

But there is no place for Barcelona and Argentina superstar Lionel Messi.

Ronaldo scored 44 times for Real Madrid last term, including 15 strikes in the Champions League as the LaLiga giants claimed a third successive European title.

Modric was also pivotal to that success before inspiring Croatia’s run to the World Cup final.

Salah did not enjoy such a productive time in Russia, as Egypt bowed out at the group stage, but swept the board in terms of individual awards in England after a magnificent debut season for Champions League finalists Liverpool.

Like Ronaldo, Salah netted 44 times across all competitions for Jurgen Klopp’s men.

Messi is nominated for the Puskas Award for the best goal in the world over the past year thanks to his excellent World Cup effort against Nigeria.

Ronaldo, for his magnificent Champions League overhead kick against current employers Juventus, and Salah, courtesy of a solo effort versus Merseyside rivals Everton, are also in the running among a 10-strong field.

World Cup performances heavily influenced world football’s governing body in its nominations across the board, with France captain Hugo Lloris and Belgium’s Thibaut Courtois put forward alongside Denmark’s Kasper Schmeichel for the Best FIFA Goalkeeper award.

Zinedine Zidane’s three Champions Leagues in a row as Madrid coach means he, like Ronaldo, is up for back-to-back awards in his category, with World Cup finalists Didier Deschamps and Zlatko Dalic the other tacticians in the frame.

Reynald Pedros, boss of the all-conquering Lyon, heads the list for Best FIFA Women’s Coach nominees, alongside Asako Takakura of Japan and Sarina Wiegman of Netherlands.

Brazil great Marta is nominated for the women’s player gong alongside Lyon duo Ada Hegerberg and Dzsenifer Marozsan.


The Best FIFA Men’s Player

Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid/Juventus and Portugal)

Luka Modric (Real Madrid and Croatia)

Mohamed Salah (Liverpool and Egypt)

The Best FIFA Women’s Player

Ada Hegerberg (Lyon and Norway)

Dzsenifer Marozsan (Lyon and Germany)

Marta (Orlando Pride and Brazil)

The Best FIFA Men’s Coach

Zlatko Dalic (Croatia)

Didier Deschamps (France)

Zinedine Zidane (Real Madrid)

The Best FIFA Women’s Coach

Reynald Pedros (Lyon)

Asako Takakura (Japan)

Sarina Wiegman (Netherlands)

The Best FIFA Goalkeeper

Thibaut Courtois (Chelsea/Real Madrid and Belgium)

Hugo Loris (Tottenham and France)

Kasper Schmeichel (Leicester City and Denmark)

FIFA Puskas Award:

Gareth Bale – Real Madrid v Liverpool

Denis Cheryshev – Russia v Croatia

Lazaros Christodoulopoulos – AEK v Olympiacos

Giorgian De Arrascaeta Cruzeiro v America MG

Riley McGree – Newcastle Jets v Melbourne City

Lionel Messi – Argentina v Nigeria

Benjamin Pavard – France v Argentina

Ricardo Quaresma – Portugal v Iran

Cristiano Ronaldo – Juventus v Real Madrid

Mohamed Salah – Liverpool v Everton

FIFA Fan Award

Japan and Senegal fans

Peru fans

Sebastian Carrera (Deportes Puerto Montt)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.