Rapinoe, Bronze and Hegerberg Lead Nominees for 2019 Women’s Ballon d’Or.

Megan Rapinoe and Lucy Bronze lead the nominees for the 2019 Women’s Ballon d’Or, with the full 20-name list having been revealed by France Football.

The pair fought it out as two of the three finalists for FIFA’s The Best Women’s Player award in September, alongisde Alex Morgan, with Rapinoe claiming the trophy after grabbing all the headlines at the 2019 Women’s World Cup.

Bronze collected the UEFA Women’s Player of the Year accolade a month earlier, with her and the American now seen as front-runners for the Ballon d’Or, which will be awarded for just the second time on December 2 in Paris.

Ada Hegerberg won the inaugural edition last year and is on the list of nominees again, but her treble-winning achievements for Lyon have been overlooked so far this year when it has come to individual awards, with her having not competed at the World Cup.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.